Using images in node details

Using images in node details

Postby mapcon » Thu May 08, 2014 1:15 pm

Hello everyone,

in my maps I have started placing images into the node details using the HTML img function (something like:
Code: Select all
<img height="195" src="Spline_NX85.png" width="381">
).
I find it very useful to have these pictures shown only if I want to see the node details. I can expand & collapse them along with the deatils, so I like it very much.
I understand that this must be a somehow "unsupported" method in Freeplane so of course there are some restrictions and issues to cope with.
Still I would like to encourage development on this field, if I may...

- From the user's perspective it would be a great improvement if there was an "insert picture" functionality inside the node details editor like there is in Freeplane main menu. And it would also be very valuable to have an option to insert the picture in a scaled size, e.g. 1/2 or 1/4 of the original size (actually I am calculating this myself editing it into the HTML statement which is not much fun).
-The other issue I am facing with "my" node detail images is that the linked pictures obviously cannot be selected for copy & paste operations into other applications.
Typical use case: Copy the whole node including its details into an e-mail message. Or alternatively just copy the details (text and images). Seems to be impossible using 1.2.23.
Or did I just miss the option?

Maybe there is a solution to this already? Then I would appreciate to learn it.
Or maybe these suggestions would be worthwhile for future development?

Thanks to everyone & cordial greetings,

MapCon
:
<><
mapcon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using images in node details

Postby quinbus » Thu May 08, 2014 1:34 pm

edit->node extensions->insert in-line images

Just the ticket you are looking for! Wonderful tool! Use it all the time!

Q!
quinbus
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:04 am

Re: Using images in node details

Postby mapcon » Fri May 09, 2014 5:02 pm

Hello quinbus,

yeah, that sounds great.
Only downside: I can't find it: :(
neiter in 1.2.23 nor in 1.3.8 rc (which I have just downloaded to make sure I don't miss something)
The only thing I see is "edit / node extensions / add image" which does something different. No "insert..." command.

Do I have to make a special prerequisite of some kind? :?

Thanks for your support & greetings,

MapCon
:
<><
mapcon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using images in node details

Postby abc163 » Fri May 09, 2014 5:33 pm

Insert Inline Image is an add-on created by Volker Börchers and Rickenbroc. Please check the link below:
http://freeplane.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Add-ons#Insert_Inline_Image

abc
abc163
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:09 am

Re: Using images in node details

Postby quinbus » Fri May 09, 2014 5:46 pm

abc163 wrote:Insert Inline Image is an add-on created by Volker Börchers and Rickenbroc. Please check the link below:
http://freeplane.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Add-ons#Insert_Inline_Image

abc


Ah. I see. I knew this was included as an add-on for a while, but I thought I remembered seeing something about the feature becoming standard on Freeplane installations.

Sorry for the mis-direct.

But my ignorance should in no way diminish the attractiveness of this wonderful tool. I'd be the first to say that it SHOULD be a standard Freeplane feature!

Q!
quinbus
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:04 am

Re: Using images in node details

Postby mapcon » Fri May 09, 2014 6:40 pm

:o Wow!
Yes, that's very nice!
And it's a great day, 1st time I installed an addon to Freeplane. ;)
I agree, this function is *very* useful so I would also recommend it to be an included functionality to Freeplane.

Still it seems impossible to copy & paste the whole node or at least its details including the picture. Probably this isn't as easy to realise, I'm afraid.

Anyway: Thanks for the great hint!

cu

MapCon
:
<><
mapcon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using images in node details

Postby quinbus » Fri May 09, 2014 6:51 pm

mapcon wrote::o Wow!
Yes, that's very nice!
And it's a great day, 1st time I installed an addon to Freeplane. ;)
I agree, this function is *very* useful so I would also recommend it to be an included functionality to Freeplane.

Still it seems impossible to copy & paste the whole node or at least its details including the picture. Probably this isn't as easy to realise, I'm afraid.

Anyway: Thanks for the great hint!

cu

MapCon
:
<><


I didn't think about it before, but here's a little video I created to illustrate the various techniques for image management in FP. Better late than never, I guess, but I'm thinking more about those that come afterwards looking to travel the same road!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE3VGoZi0s8&feature=gp-n-y

Q!
quinbus
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:04 am

Re: Using images in node details

Postby mapcon » Fri May 09, 2014 7:33 pm

Hi,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE3VGoZi0s8&feature=gp-n-y

that's a very good instruction gving a great insight into the image capabilities. Much of which I need in my daily work.
Thank you very much for that!

/MapCon
:
<><
mapcon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest